“Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.”

Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210


The seven sacraments, all of them revealed by Jesus Christ, are outward signs of inner grace through which mankind is strengthened and sanctified throughout life.

The seven sacraments are:


Through this sacrament of initiation, a baby, young person or adult is baptised into Christ, transforming the individual into a son or daughter of God. Baptism is aptly categorised as a sacrament of initiation because it is the gateway to all other sacraments.

Please contact the Parish Office for an application form and details of our next preparation sessions.

Holy Communion

Children entering Year 3 (that is, at least seven years old) or above are invited to take part. As part of the programme, children receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation for the first time. For more information please contact the Parish Office.


The sacrament of Confirmation complements and completes the sacrament of Baptism. It is usually administered by the bishop through the laying on of hands and anointing with oil, blessed by the bishop. All baptised persons can, and should, receive this faith-strengthening sacrament.

A course of preparation for this sacrament takes place every other year. Young people in their second year of secondary education (Year 8) and above are invited to take part. For more information please contact the Parish Office


The Sacrament of Reconciliation, or Penance, is available as a 'Drive Thru' on Saturday 9:30am-10:30am at St Philip Howard Church.

Anointing of the Sick

This sacrament is administered to bring spiritual, and even physical, strength during an illness. As with all the sacraments, holy anointing was instituted by Jesus Christ during his earthly ministry. While this is one of the last sacraments that a person is likely to receive, one does not have to be in danger of death to receive it. It would be appropriate, for example, to receive this sacrament if you are going into hospital. To arrange, please contact the Parish Office.


Please arrange the date of your wedding with the Parish Office. It is usual to give at least a year’s notice. Engaged couples are expected to complete a course of preparation to deepen their understanding of the sacrament of marriage.

Holy Orders

In the Catholic Church, there are three levels of Holy Orders: the episcopate (for bishops), the priesthood (for priests) and the diaconate (for deacons).

If you feel that you have a vocation to either the priesthood or the permanent diaconate, click here.